Therapy

Last nights BBQ was fantastic. Love my job. Love the people I work with.

word on the street is, they loved the salad.

however.

Late night. Early morning. Work on a Saturday?

Therapy! I need therapy!

Kitchen Therapy to be precise.

Nothing thrills me more than an empty house, a kitchen all to myself, and a new experiment up my sleeve. and wine.

Experiment — Barley Risotto

There’s something truely theraputic about the patient practise of making risotto.

Ladle, stir, simmer, ladle, stir, simmer

This kind of therapy I can do. No funny business involving me laying out on a couch, staring at the ceiling being asked ‘and how does that make you feel?’

Goat’s Cheese and Peas Barley Risotto

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c. dry pearl barley
  • 1/4 c. minced onion
  • 1 minced clove of garlic
  • 2 c. vegetable broth
  • 1 c. water
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Thyme

Directions

In a medium sauce pan, heat the water and stock to a slow simmer.

Heat about 1 tsp of olive oil in a small sauce pan, sautee the onion and garlic until translucent, add the barley, salt, pepper and thyme. Once your onion barley mixture looks dry, add 1 cup of the stock mixture and stir frequently until the liquid is almost completely absorbed. Continue adding the remaining stock one ladle at a time allowing the liquid to be almost completely absorbed into the barley each time. Stir frequently until barley is cooked through but still has texture, about 35 minutes.

To finish, stir in 1/4 c. of frozen peas and top with crumbled goats cheese and wilted spinach with garlic

How does that make me feel?

How do you think that makes me feel.

What’s your own personal form of therapy?

2 thoughts on “Therapy

  1. Mmm…risotto. Therapy doesn’t get any better. This recipe sounds divine! 😀

    Cooking and running are my two greatest forms of therapy. Cooking for when I need to slow down, unwind, relax. Running for when I have too much energy and/or need to vent. 😉

  2. Oooh, I have never made risotto before. Yours sounds diviiiine. My personal therapy usually involves going to the coffee shop across the street for a freshly brewed iced tea and a book to get lost in for a couple of hours 🙂

Leave a Reply

