Bagel Stealing Ninja

It was 11:00 a.m.

Right about that time every single day that my breakfast fullness wears out and my stomach starts muttering profanities at me.

My friend in class wandered to the Tim Hortons during our 10 minute coffee break and brought with her a cinnamon raisin bagel. I scowled at her. How could she be so cruel?

Then she pulled out a single serving package of Kraft Peanut Butter. As she smeared the peanut-flavoured hydrogenated vegetable oil onto her bagel, I got all wide-eyed and twitchy and it took every ounce of self-restraint in me to not karate chop her in the throat and steal her food from her unsuspecting hands and feast away. 

But like I said, I refrained. I had a perfectly good lunch waiting to be eaten, and somehow I don’t think the rest of my class mates would find me busting out my ninja skills on this poor girl very socially acceptable. I should consider a mid-morning snack.

So I got out of class, I ate my lunch, I was satisfied and all, but that pesky bagel was in the back of my head… and inspired my dinner.

Cinnamon-Raisin Bagel French Toast

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices sprouted wheat bread, lightly toasted
  • 1/2 c. liquid egg whites
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp raisins
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

Directions:

In a bowl, combine the egg whites and cinnamon. Dunk your bread into the egg white mixture until it’s completely saturated. Place your soggy bread onto a greased pan or griddle (I used a little butter) and poke your raisins into it at random. Cook your french toast for about two minutes per side or until brown. Schmere on your peanut butter and explain to your family that this is a perfectly balanced dinner.

 Bread->Carbs. Egg-whites->Protein. Peanut butter-> Healthy fat. Duh.

Leave a Reply

