Fight the Funk

This time last year, I got into a winter funk. I’d like to blame it on the weather, but I thought about it a lot and I’m sure it was 94% due to the fact that I was wasting my time studying business when I knew where my true passion was. At the time I thought I was going through a mid-life crisis. 18 might be a bit young for one, although with global warming and everything…

My funk lasted for about six months and I was absolutely miserable. I lived in my sweats, frequently talked myself into skipping class, and my only friends were the food network chefs. True story.

So this morning when my alarm started beeping at 5:59 a.m. and I started considering staying in bed and catching up with school later, I flashed back to last winter and hopped out of bed, pulled on JEANS, not sweats, and even went a step further and put make up on. Went to class, went to the gym. I will not have a repeat of last winter.

* * *

Waking up from a late aftenoon nap today, it felt like my stomach was wrapped around my spine. So I was hungry.

Now the weather only influences my food not my mood! The white fluff has settled in and carby comfort foods are taking center stage in this kitchen!

Grilled cheeeeeese

Sludge for dipping.

Broccoli boiled in vegetable stock and blended. Luckily I wasn’t exactly craving soup, more just a sandwich dunker, and I got in some veg!

Note to self: work on soup making skills.

Food tastes better when you’re in your flannels.

4 thoughts on “Fight the Funk

  1. AREEEFFFAAA
    i have missed reading your blog
    you go girl!
    get our of that funky town
    now you are taking classes you like
    yaaay =)

  2. Food definitely tastes better in comfy clothes like pajamas which is why I try to live in them as much as possible.

    Your grilled cheese looks really good but.. uh.. can’t say the same about the green goop. I’m sure it tasted fine though!

  3. whenever I read your blog, I always end up craving whatever food features in each post. Which is why now, at 7:34pm on an almost-summer evening, I happen to be craving soup(?) and grilled cheese.

    I agree with you and Ayla- food always tastes better when you’re wearing something suuuper comfy.

Leave a Reply

