The things she`ll do for butter…

I wanted to attempt a run in the snow on Friday, unfortunately, I made the rookie mistake of putting it off until I decided it just wasn’t going to happen.

There`s no denying, motivation plummets in cold weather, which could become a problem for Calgarians such as myself, because cold weather lasts throughout 13 months of the year. Yes, I said 13.

I blew off my run and started to bake some bread.

Do you know how difficult it is to find a loaf of whole grain cinnamon raisin bread, that won’t set you back $10 a slice, in this city? I had to take matters into my own hands.

I followed this recipe, but threw in a handful of raisins and spread a layer of butter/ cinnamon/ brown sugar onto the ball of dough mid-kneeding.

When I came to the point in the recipe where it says With a pastry blender or 2 knives, cut in butter until mixture forms fine crumbs my bread loving heart sank. We’re out of butter.

Now I’m not one to give up on bread that easily. There was a solution. Of course, no one was home to take me to the store to GET butter, not that anyone in my house would, they’re not as devoted to butter baking as I am. It was too cold to walk… but not to cold to run!!!

three pairs of socks, one pair of leggings, one pair of sweats, one tank top, one long sleeved shirt, one fleece hoodie, one down vest, two pairs of gloves and one toque later I was out the door running to the gas station near my house.

Apparently butter makes a pretty good motivator

Once I purchased my stick of butter, I felt warm enough to continue on with my run and ended up covering 3.5 miles! With a stick of butter in my pocket.

Well earned post-run snack

3 thoughts on “The things she`ll do for butter…

  1. Hahaha.. you’re a champ. I understand that baking desperation though – been there done that. Well.. not quite. I’ve never ran with a stick of butter in my pocket. Yet.

Leave a Reply

