The Breakfast Cookie

Today I had to get some blood work done, so I had to fast (hate) until 10:30 for a vampire lab tech to suck six tubes of blood out of me. But at least I didn’t complain…

005

It wasn’t my favourite 45 minutes of poking and prodding and heating packs and tight fists.

I needed to take breakfast on the go, so I couldn’t exactly take my usual yogurt mess along with me. My food safety class has me a little paranoid about leaving food out. Actually according to my food safety class a lot of the stuff I eat is festering with bacteria and toxins and pathogens. Yum.

Enter the breakfast cookie!

001

I used to have one of these every morning for the longest time. You mash the ingredients together the night before, spread the slop onto a plate, pop it in the fridge overnight, get asked ‘what the hell is growing in the fridge’ more than once by your family members and chow down with no effort in the morning.

002002

Breakfast Cookie

Inspired by The Fitnessista

  • 1/3 c. oats
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp dried cranberries
  • 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp chopped walnuts
  • splash of milk or milk substitute
  • sprinkle of shredded coconut

Directions

In a bowl, mash together the peanut butter and banana. Mix in your oats, cranberries, cocoa, walnuts and soymilk until you get a thick batter consistency, 2 tbsp of milk should do it. Spread the mixture onto a salad plate, sprinkle with coconut and put it into the fridge over night. The next morning it should be firm but doughy.

003

Leave a Reply

