Seven Stages of Hunger

I was starving by the time I got home from my evening classes today. My stages of hunger usually go a little like this:

tired and lazy–> cranky and sarcastic –> growly stomach –> dizzy and light headed –> start jumping around like a fool –> Start throwing tantrums and stomping my feet (seriously.) –> find a cow and bite its face off

Usually it never gets too out of control but today I made it all the way to level 6 and it was getting ugly. I was waving my arms in the air hysterically while my quinoa cooked. My mom tried desperately to calm me down and offered to help but I shut her down telling her “it would REALLLY be best if we didn’t talk until I have something to eat

After that she just watched helplessly as I descended further into my hunger-driven insanity. Alternating between chopping vegetables and writhing around on the kitchen floor groaning ‘FOOOOOUUUUUUDDDD’

Somehow, I refrained from diving face first into this bowl and snapped a couple of pictures. I had already waited an eternity 20 minutes for my dinner to be ready, what was a couple more?

So what did I end up feeding my furious stomach, so that it wouldn’t eat itself? A BIG bowl of veggies (spinach, tomato, onion, asparagus, olives, carrots), chickpeas and quinoa drowned with tahini-lemon-garlic dressing. This. Was. Amazing.

Hunger is the best sauce, but that dressing is a close second.

Go enter my giveaway!

Leave a Reply

