Creature of Habit

I’ve noticed a pattern in my all of my breakfasts. Three ingredients are constant: oats, banana and nut butter. It’s such a filling and delicious combination and I may or may not throw tantrums when one of these ingredients are finished in my house.

While I love my raw yogurt messes the other day I got a little idea.

Before I went to bed, I mixed oats, mashed banana, chia seeds and a splash of soymilk in a bowl and let it sit in the fridge overnight.

In the morning I heated a tiny hunk of coconut oil in a pan and dumped the banana dough in, browning it on both sides

Vegan Oatmeal Pancake

Serves One

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 c. rolled oats
  • 1/2 medium banana, mashed
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp soymilk
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil

Directions:

The night before, combine the oats, mashed banana, chia seeds and soymilk in a bowl and let the mixture soak overnight in the fridge. The next morning, heat the coconut oil on medium heat in a pan, scoop the oat mixture into the pan and spread it into an even layer. Cook for 2-3 minutes on the first side, carefully flip (use a plate if necessary) and cook on the second side for an additional 2-3 minutes.

I topped mine with yogurt (which unveganized this recipe), raw pecan butter, banana slices and maple syrup. Not too shabby!

Leave a Reply

