Magic Mushrooms

Now you see them

Now you don’t!

I chopped up an entire POUND of crimini mushrooms for some veggie lasagna tonight. After cooking them in olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic, it shrunk down to nearly nothing.

My mom hates cooking, but she is so good at it. She throws things into a pan and it’s always amazing. Her two best creations are her all-purpose curry base and all-purpose pasta sauce.

Growing up, we had ground beef, soaked in her all-purpose pasta sauce in our lasagna. While she would layer the pasta, cheese, and spinach, I would scoop heaping spoonfuls of the meat sauce straight from the pan to my mouth. She eventually learnt to make extra. A lot extra.

Somewhere along the line, my brother and I became crazy hippies and stopped eating meat. Luckily, chopped mushrooms soaked in my moms all-purpose pasta sauce is just as delicious.

I would love to share the recipe with you, but really, she just throws things into the pot. However, I can tell you that it contains olive oil, crushed tomatos, lots of garlic, oregano, salt and pepper. Nothing fancy but the looove she puts into it is particularly pleasant on the taste-buds.

Leave a Reply

