Yoga bust

I’ve made a lot of progress on my essay, so I’ve definitely earned my hot yoga class, unfortunately, I didn’t consider the elements and walking to the train station in the cold AND in the dark after a hot yoga class while I’m sweaty doesn’t sound as appealing as it did earlier today. At least I made it to my Yin class which was much better than my last one, when I was confused and exhausted and ended up falling asleep in every posture. This time I focused on my breathing and, not surprisingly, my back feels great.

***

I have a lot of fun packing my meals, actually I enjoy packing meals in general. for about half a year I had a deal with my brother, I’d make his lunches, and he’d drive me places. It worked out well until I found out that he wasn’t eating most of it! He’s a crazy artist and forgets to eat all the time, I don’t think I’ve ever forgotten to eat a meal ! As much as I enjoy packing food I don’t like wasting food so the deal was off and I’ve been relying on Public Transit and my feet for transportation. I can’t wait until the snow is gone so I can ride my bike !

Because I was SO sure that I’d be coming home around 10:00 p.m. today, I packed my lunch and dinner last night

Lunch:


Egg salad wrap (1 egg, scoop of hummus, a tiny schmere of olive spread) steamed broccoli with pasta sauce and parmesan, and strawberries with Sahale Snacks: Cashews with Pomegranate + Vanilla

Pita with hummus and cheese + Spinach, tomato, chickpea, sprouts salad, dressed in lemon-tahini dressing

I also packed up a back up orange and Kashi bar. I’d rather have too much than not enough !

***

I’ve slowly been working my way through some samples that Anja from  Sahale Snacks sent me to review.

Cashews with Pineapple, Peanuts, Lemongrass + Mild Chinese Chili

“Lemongrass, Soy glazed Cashews, Pineapple, Peanuts, and Sesame seeds lightly dusted with mild Chinese chili make up this exceptional, aromatic blend reminiscent of a great Thai dish.”

I am obsessed with the salty soy sauce flavour that was infused into these cashews. The black sesame seeds and peanuts were a nice texture contrast along with the chewy pieces of dried pineapple. I think these would be fantastic sprinkled over a vegetable stir fry but were great by the handful.

Pecans with Sweet Cranberries, Black Pepper + Orange Zest

“Made with black-peppered pecans and sweet cranberries, this sumptuous departure from everyday snack food evokes the classic taste of the American South.”


I was most excited about these because I love pecans and was intrigued by the black pepper in these nuts. The pecans had a nice sweetness to them and I definitely tasted the black pepper, it was delicious! My only complaint is that the cranberries were a bit too dry and almost hard. Besides that these were fantastic.

Almonds with Apple, Flax Seeds, Date, Balsamic Vinegar + Red Pepper

“This delectable snacking experience features almonds, apples, and flax seeds, tickled with date, balsamic vinegar and cayenne.”

These were my least favorite of the bunch, but they were still pretty good. I didn’t find that the apple and red pepper flavours went together very well and I think a tiny bit more salt would bring the flavours together more. Although, the nut blend was very pleasing texture-wise with the sticky and crunchy almonds and chewy dried apples.

Cashews with Pomegranate + Vanilla

We think we’ve found a perfect combination of sublime flavors: Pomegranate, Vanilla, and Cashews. Our whole roasted Cashews are teamed with Pomegranate and Apple, and balanced with pure Vanilla bean. Our light glaze adds just the right amount of sweetness.

Yum ! These are such a treat. They’re nice and sweet but also a little bit salty which I love. The tiny bits of pomegranate get really chewy and there’s the tinyest undertone of vanilla which is a good thing because I find that things that are too heavily flavoured with vanilla can easily taste artificial.

***

Well, I guess I’m going home, then! Lots of fun things happening tomorrow, Night !

Leave a Reply

