Vegan Talk

The nutrition program I’m in is slowly coming to a close. Today, I did my final, big presentation. It has been about six months in the making and it’s such a relief to have it done!

Months ago I mentioned this project and that I needed to blog my way through it. My presentation was held at Lululemon and I discussed Vegan diets and the misconceptions that come with them in regard to protein. The presentation was over before I knew it and I got some good feedback, thanks to everyone who came !!

Of course, I couldn’t resist bringing some protein rich vegan food…

No bake granola bars (balls)


Recipe

Lentil Walnut Loaf

Recipe

Vegan Quesadillas

Ingredients

  • 10 small, whole-grain tortillas
  • 1/2 c. corn
  • 1/2 c. black beans
Vegan Cheese 
  • 1/2 c. prepared hummus
  • 1/2 c. nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbsp. vegetable broth
  • 1 tbsp. chopped cilantro

Directions:

For the cheese: In a bowl, combine hummus, nutritional yeast, cilantro and vegetable broth. Spread this mixture onto one side of the tortilla, sprinkle with corn and black beans and fold over into a quesadilla. Heat in a skillet until the tortilla is brown.

Classic PB ‘n’ J

Whole grain bread, natural peanut butter, strawberry jam

Each of these options demonstrated complementary proteins, which was a concept that I really wanted the audience to understand.

The theory behind complementary proteins is that there are three major groups of protein sources for vegans. Whole grains, beans and legumes and nuts and seeds. Each group offers a higher concentration of certain amino acids but can also be lower in others. For example, most grains are high in the essential amino acid methionine but lower in lysine. Luckily beans and legumes are higher in lysine but are lower in methionine. So if you combine them, there is a sufficient amount of amino acids required for protein formation. Pretty neat.

Half way through my day in the kitchen, making all of this vegan deliciousness, I took a break to run three miles and have a very un-vegan lunch

Spinach salad with tomatoes, sprouts, black beans, corn, trail mix, goats cheese and honey

I’m taking advantage of the holiday tomorrow, cleaning up, lazing around and going to a late yoga class. Yum.

One thought on “Vegan Talk

Leave a Reply

