Freedom Run

It is so freakin’ hot here in the city of Calgary.

Monday, FUNDAY: School->work->physical activity.  It is one of those days that you have one of two choices of how you want to go about it. You can bitch and moan about how you`re going to be sitting in a desk from 8:00 a.m. until 6:30 p.m. and then somehow muster up the energy to go for a run, OR you can wake up, tell yourself it`s going to be the best day that you`ve had in a while and get it done. Guess which one I chose #crazyladymumblingpositivemantrasbeforethesuncomesup

on the schedule for tonight was a freedom run

“whats a freedom run?”

So glad you asked!

It’s a run with no consideration in regards to pace, distance, where the hell I’m going whether I walk, run, cartwheel, whether my legs are shaved (they weren’t) whether I stop for several downward dogs along the way (I did) and whether I lose restraint over my middle finger and it ascends to the heavens when the true charmers of this city decide to honk and bark (seriously) out their windows. bravo gentlemen, bravo.

I ran from work down the river in the opposite direction that I usually go until I began to feel lost and started getting anxious. At that point all I could think was “this is just like a scene from that episode of Criminal Minds” I high tailed it back to work where I left my stuff, and scurried on home.

Freedom runs are the best! Because I’m not training for any kind of race right now I don’t feel the need to put any pressure on myself in terms of consistency in pace and running to walking ratios, or even running in general! I only get a running craving once or twice a week so I deal with them as they come. No garmin, just my cheesy running music (the only situation when Ke$sha is appropriate is when you need a liiiittle extra push during a run) and my sneaks.

My smoothie addiction is still going strong, but let me show you Sunday morning brunch

It is crucial that you let your bread go stale for French Toast! STALE Multigrain baguette slices, dipped in egg/milk/vanilla/cinnamon French toasted and dipped in an almond butter and maple syrup mixture. Burries on the side. So good for soaking up the giggle water from the night before

I went out on Saturday night for a friend’s birthday and was out until 4 am (I am too much of a grandmother to be doing this!) and slept until 11-freaking-30 my productive Sunday was shot, I basically stared hopelessly at my Chemistry textbook for two hours -it’s like the words bounce off of my eyeballs!- went to yoga, karma cleaning, made a smoothie and went to bed.

My brother got back today from a month and a half backpacking trip across India, I’m off to go hear about his adventures!

Leave a Reply

