Pain in the Neck

This morning my alarm went off a 5:45 a.m. I turned it off, blinked, and it was 6:38 a.m. Drat. I was planning on leaving for my exam by 7 but I postponed my departure until 7:20.

I had the perfect breakfast for a kind of rushed morning

Overnight Oats in a Jar

~Oats, greek yogurt, soymilk, flax, (I’ve decided I like my o-n-oats sans yogurt, I much prefer gooey, flaxy milk), raisins~

this morning –> pinch of granola and brown sugar.

Who can tell me why my first 7 bites were gross?

I forgot the banana ?!! Fixed that with a quick peel and slice

Even still, couldn’t finish the whole jar for breakfast (exam anxiety), but the left overs made a dandy afternoon snack!

Despite my late wake, I still made it to the exam site 50 minutes early! I wasn’t sure how long it would take me to get there, and Calgary transit is SO unreliable, and people are constantly getting hit by trains (I wish I was kidding, for their sake and mine) causing delays that last for hours. In any case, better 50 minutes early than 5 minutes late!

The exam went fine. I took my time and really thought every question through… for the first ten questions, until I realized I was half way through my time and only a quarter of the way through the exam! I’ve never felt rushed during an exam and never understood how people could sit until the last call, well, now I do.

Lunch was snacky since I didn’t have much time to pack it this morning!

Piece of bread, hand full of chickpeas, baby cucumbers, hunk of cheese, hummus, apple

Afterwards I went for a much-needed massage. YES.

On Saturday, I went to yoga and we did a little

and

I left class feeling great, but my upper back started feeling sore through the night, and when I woke up I instinctively moved right into downward dog and heard shhhhchhhk at the very tip of my spine, tumbled over and have spent the last five days with an extremely stiff neck and limited range of motion (there has been quite a bit of optic nerve stretching this week) with burning sensations, numbness and NAUSEA as follow up symptoms. It was a nasty!

I am slightly melodramatic, but the pain in my face is REAL. Ouch.

Of course I made sure to do plenty of neck stretching, poking at pressure points, apply ice packs, heating pads and I only had ONE Advil, I’m proud to say. But only an hour of intense muscle pinching, pulling and pressurizing (not a word) would bring me back to normal.

My crunchy neck literally melted in the hands of  my massage therapist. Neck cricks are the worst! I distinctly remember the first time I ever experienced one. It was my second day of grade 10, my mom was dropping me at the bus stop and I SNEEZED, and my neck seized up.The rest is history, since then, I get them several times a year and each time I have to convince myself that it’s not a herniated disc or pinched nerve.

Dinner: Honourable mention

Baked Salmon, Baked Tilapia (mom made it = I don’t know what was in it = SO delicious), baked potato+hummus/greek yogurt/salsa, mushrooms, spinach, tomato slices. I’m one of those annoying people who packs their food onto a salad plate and I think it’s time I cut it out. I know what portion control looks like. Big plate or small! Big plate = nobody falls overboard while I’m eating.

Now, if you don’t mind, I think I’m quite ready for my summer to officially begin! Tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

