Processed Foods

Am I allowed to say TGIF even though I work tomorrow?

Today I spent all morning in the kitchen and all afternoon at the mall and I am exhausted!

Now that I finally have an appropriate food processor for my needs (my last two broke and most recently I tried ordering one from eBay only to receive an industrial sized food processor on my doorstep)  I’ve been eating banana soft serve for every single meal and making all sorts of snacks and spreads that were never possible before!

The other day, I swiped the bottom of my Costco container of hummus clean with a chunk of bread. Normally, this would spark a sense of panic (I always need peanut butter, bananas and hummus in my house. Always.)

But no panic here! I simply threw a can of rinsed chickpeas, dried herbs, garlic, tahini, olive oil, vegetable broth, salt and pepper into the belly of the beast and BBBRRRRZZZ. Perfect. chunky. garlicky.

Today I had it on toast with tomatoes and cheese. Broiled until my cheese resembled marshmallows!

I made raw chocolate cake in ball form (affectionately called cocoa turds at work) and a spin on the Fitnessista’samazeballs

Coconutty Dough Balls

Makes 10 balls

Ingredients

  • 4 tbsp drippy almond butter
  • 4 tbsp. shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1.5 tbsp. maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp. coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt

Directions: Combine everything in a food processor and roll into balls!

Finally, I made edamame millet burgers for dinner


This is the best veggie burger recipe I’ve ever tried! The burger ‘dough’ is really tasty too, I took many a finger swipe of it right out of the food processor, I recommend you do the same!

Just remember to take the blade out first.

2 thoughts on “Processed Foods

  1. Oh no, sorry about your finger! I have actually done that to my tongue…whoopsies. Your version of the raw chocolate cake looks awesome – I love coconut!

Leave a Reply

