Steak Night

“Vegetarians, and their Hezbollah-like splinter-faction, the vegans, are a persistent irritant to any chef worth a damn.

To me, life without veal stock, pork fat, sausage, organ meat, demi-glace, or even stinky cheese is a life not worth living.

Vegetarians are the enemy of everything good and decent in the human spirit, an affront to all I stand for, the pure enjoyment of food. The body, these waterheads imagine, is a temple that should not be polluted by animal protein.”

-Anthony Bourdain

A bit over a year ago, I watched Food Inc, decided I would cut back on meat and stopped craving it all together. I told people I was a vegetarian because that is just much easier to explain.

I enjoyed filling in the gaps of my meals where meat used to be with spoonfuls of peanut butter and hunks of cheese, though I was never one for supplementing my protein intake with powders. They taste like crushed chalk and death and sadness.

I felt no deprivation because I was enjoying my favourite foods still and it made me more creative in the kitchen. I still ate fish frequently.

Recently, however, I’ve been missing the meat! Like, meat, meat. Tofurky and Soy Crumbles creep me out, what can I say. I did my best to ignore it, but then asked myself, why ignore it? Didn’t you stop eating meat because you truly didn’t want it? So if you WANT it, and you are DEPRIVING yourself of something that you WANT doesn’t that go against every thing you believe in?

Yes. I suppose it does.

While I don’t see myself making meat a daily, or even weekly thing, I’m truly happy to have it back! Growing up, every Saturday night was steak night, and my parents still make steak a few times a month. For the last year, I would happily make my own dinner, but a couple of Saturdays ago, we sat down to dinner and…

Too bad, I don’t have this almost vegetarian label to make me feel cool anymore.

Of course, I will do my best to eat meat from a good source, which shouldn’t be too challenging, I live in Alberta! There are cows in my back yard.

The most exciting thing about this is broadening my foodie horizons. For the past year and a bit, if I came across a recipe that included meat, I completely disregarded it, or found a way to vegetarianize (totally a word) it. I think I’ll start with roasting a whole chicken!

Disclaimer: I don’t actually agree with that quote by Anthony Bourdain, I think vegan food is delicious, I do, however, think he’s hilarious.

3 thoughts on “Steak Night

    • Well the one in this post my mom took for me, but for the fashion posts, I just had to become a pro with the self timer on my camera and balancing it on different surfaces 😉
      Fun! Dietary labels are kinda gross =P

Leave a Reply

