Yoga Sandwich

I woke up early even though I didn’t need to be into work until 1:00 today.

We’ve experienced our first snowfall this week in Calgary, so oatmeal for breakfast is a given


This morning I had a very brown bowl of banana oats. In the mix was rolled oats, banana, chia seeds, cinnamon, dried cranberries, salt and almond milk. On top was a hefty blob of almond butter and walnuts.

I went to 9:30 Vinyasa Flow at The Yoga Passage and made my way to work thinking I had set myself up for a nice relaxing day ahead of me.

False. It was a pretty hectic day at work and more than anything I wanted to collapse into my couch come 6:00.

Actually, more than THAT I wanted to go back to The Yoga Passage and bend, twist and breathe my day away, so that’s exactly what I did.

One glorious, hot and sweaty hour and fifteen minutes later, I was ready to make my way home to my couch.

Last night I made some throw-it-in-a-pot-and-simmer soup so left overs were waiting for me to devour as soon as I walked in the door

This soup was a pleasant surprise. The flavour and texture is exactly what I was looking for and it was embarrassingly easy to put together. It’s vegan, gluten-free and cleanse friendly. Also, it’s delicious. Totally delicious.

Black Bean Sweet-potato Soup

INGREDIENTS
1 large onion, chopped
1 large carrot, chopped
1 stalk of celery, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 extra-large sweet potato, cut into chunks
1 can black beans, rinsed
1 tbsp cumin seeds
1 tsp. paprika
1/2 c. loosely packed cilantro
3 cloves of garlic
4 cups of vegetable broth
2 cups of water
1 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONSIn a large stock pot, heat olive oil to medium. Saute onions, carrots, celery and bell pepper until tender. Add garlic, cumin, paprika, sweet potatoes, vegetable broth and water. Simmer until potatoes an carrots have softened. Stir in black beans and puree half of the soup* stir in spinach and cilantro at the last-minute and season to taste.

*to puree half of the soup you can use an immersion blender and puree it to the desired consistency, or place half of the soup into a blender, puree it, and place it back into the pot. This will thicken the soup without the use of any extra starches.

I’ve enjoyed this two nights in a row for dinner and today for lunch. I garnish it with lime juice, nutritional yeast and hot sauce.

Today’s double dip into the yoga studio has left my triceps and shoulders quivering, one chaturanga too many! I have some trashy television calling my name

Leave a Reply

