Chilly Whack

Oh me oh my. I’m slowly re-heating after a chilly day at the clinic. Unfortunately our heat was not working! 100 phone calls later, things should be back in order by MONDAY. Oh, life.

This morning, I fueled the furnace with a hot bowl of apple cinnamon oatmeal with a big scoop of almond butter

oats, chia seeds, almond milk, cinnamon, apple sauce, chopped apple, almond butter, walnuts

Worked and worked and grabbed a cinnamon plum tea on my way home. DEFROST ME.

I didn’t formally exercise today, but all of my muscles were contracted for 6 hours straight, that counts right?

Throughout this cleanse, I’ve been sticking with oats for breakfast because they’re easy and delicious and filling. But I’ve had a hankering for crunchy cereal all of a sudden! Unfortunately, Lucky Charms are not on the program (I checked) so I took matters into my own hands

Detox Cereal

Inspired by Quinoa Granola

1/4 c. millet
1/4 c. quinoa
1 1/2 c. rolled oats
3/4 c. nuts and seeds (I used almonds, sunflower seeds and pepitas)
2 tbsp whole flax seeds
1/2 c. unsweetened apple sauce
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla
2 tbsp. honey (or maple syrup)
2 c. puffed brown rice

DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 300.

Rinse millet and quinoa and lay out to dry slightly. In a bowl combine oats, millet, quinoa, nuts and seeds.
Mix applesauce, honey, cinnamon and vanilla. Pour over oat mixture and stir until evenly coated.
Spread mixture onto a baking sheet in a thick layer (this makes clusters!) and bake for 45 minutes, stirring every 15.
Mix granola clusters into brown rice cereal and store in an air-tight container.

Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

