New Year Ramble

Umm…

Merry Christmas Eve/Christmas/Happy Boxing Day/Happy New Year.

I’m embarrassed. My coworkers insisted I took some time off. They all but had a restraining order against me, keeping me away from the clinic between December 23rd until January 3rd, leaving me with SO. MUCH. time on my hands and still I neglected senorita blog for the entire break.

I wasn’t terribly busy. Honestly. I alternated between sleeping more than is probably even allowed, eating…more than is probably even allowed, catching up with friends that I should and will hang out with more often (New years resolution!)

You could find me spending money on kinda-but-not-really-neccessary things because I won’t be working full-time any more and I probably won’t be able to afford things like my FOURTH nose piercing (I’ve had to repierce four. FOUR times.) and a new iPod and lots and lots and lots of coffee and a new years eve dress and three new pairs of Lululemon pants (on sale do you think I’m insane?). This was also the first year that I could actually afford to get my loved ones Christmas gifts, which makes me so happy

Oh! I also spent my time practising YOGA lots and lots of yoga! I kept going strong with my December yoga challenge, and though I missed a couple of formal classes, I managed to find myself in some compromising positions and awkward twists while watching TV most nights.

My camera has basically been collecting dust for the past two weeks, so I would refer to this post for an idea of what Christmas was like at my house (although, this time I was lazy and only made one dessert, decreasing the total number of sticks of butter involved in Christmas dinner to 2)

New year’s eve was spent dancing my face off with friends and strangers alike.

I like the idea of new years resolutions but I’m rather impulsive and if I want to do something I like to do it right away. With that said, this year I’ll floss more, meditate more, be an awesome student, think before I speak , prioritize, keep calm, see friends more often, blog more consistently, sit up straighter, shave my legs once in a while, learn my parent’s language (so they can stop talking about me behind my back in front of me!) and learn more about wine. Which will require a lot. a. lot. of studying.

Story of my life for the last two weeks.

Now I’m back to work for one more full week and then I’m going to be a student again! I can not wait to start geeking out. I’m studying communications part-time, working part-time.

During my yoga focused December, I literally did not go to the gym once. I love yoga-high but I did miss the different kind of rush that a work out offers. On Monday, I took the familiar stroll to my gym and lifted weights for only 30 minutes and my body went from confused to uncooperative to thankful and now it is just plain angry. Everything hurts. Tuesday night I went to my favorite 6:10 hot yoga class with Gord, I basically skip to the studio giggling with glitter in my eyes on Tuesday nights and float home with a dopey grin on my face.

I don’t even care that I’m soaked with sweat and it is usually over an hours commute via foot/train/bus home in the cold and I don’t usually eat dinner until 9:30 or 10:00 p.m. meaning I’ve gone between 5-9 hours without food and we know how I get when I get hungry.

Nope. Tuesday nights are my favorite.

I’m trying to get back into the habit of waking up at at least 6 a.m. For the last little while, my alarm would go off at 5:29, I’d blink and it would be 8:30 ?! Deep down I am an early bird, so today I made the effort to JUMP out of bed at the sound of my alarm.

Broke fast.

 

Toast, apple, peanut butter, granola, pumpkin butter

and had like four hours to kill until I had to leave for work. So what else would I do? I made dinner so that it would be waiting for me when I got home from work.

Roasted garlic and brie soup. I had about half of a large wheel of brie left over from our Christmas dinner so after a brief browse on Foodgawker I put the cheese to use and it turned out delicious!

I feel like we’re caught up! I hope everyone is having a good start to the year ❤

One thought on “New Year Ramble

  1. Aweeee you are great. :). This year I am going to make sure I keep up with your blog and skype you more! New years resolution!

Leave a Reply

