Sleep Squatting

I had a rough sleep last night! Maybe late afternoon coffees aren’t such a good idea on lazy days. They don’t affect me on weekdays because I’m using my caffeine but my mind was racing and I only got a couple of winks throughout the night.

Unrested, but relieved when my alarm went off at 5:45 so I could officially start my week.

First breakfast was a morning-glory muffin with peanut butter and banana slices. I saw Leanne’s recipe last week and was so excited to see that I had all of the ingredients in my pantry. This is the first recipe using coconut flour that I have actually enjoyed, they are slightly sweet and really satisfying.

I’m very lucky that school is on the way to work for my mom, so I can get a ride with her and I really do prefer to work out first thing in the morning (before my body figures out what I’m doing)

I warmed up with a 15 minute jog and followed up with a lower body workout that left me weak in the knees.

Exercise Weight (total) Reps Sets
Barbell Squat 45# 12-15 4
Stiff Leg Deadlift 55# 12-15 3
Superset
Bulgarian Split Squat 16# 8-12 2
Weighted Step ups 30# 8-12 2
Walking Lunges 24# 10 3
Sumo Squats 55# 15 3
Leg Press 120#, 140#, 160# 20, 15, 10 3

Apparently, a bad night’s sleep = an amazing work out, who knew?

Second breakfast was a mango protein smoothie.

I have yet to find a protein powder that I enjoy and prefer to get my protein from food. This was 1/2 c. cottage cheese, 1/2 a mango, and a splash of almond milk to get things moving. I prefer to have 3 solid meals but it’s just not ideal during the week. I am usually having breakfast a 6:30 and I end up starving by 10 or 11. It simply makes more sense to split breakfast up because a) I don’t enjoy feeling weighed down by a big breakfast during a work out b) Breakfast #2 comes right after my workout meaning my big scary muscles get a chance to refuel and c) There is less chance of me becoming excessively hungry and therefore cranky and unpleasant.

The rest of the day was spent in class and at work, and the sky started dusting the earth with a fluffy, white, powdery substance. The cold kind! I came home and quickly wiped off my disguise

I’m magic.

Warmed up with a bowl of chicken noodle soup and an English muffin with butter.

Going to squeeze in a bit of reading before Gossip Girl!

2 thoughts on “Sleep Squatting

  1. i’m happy to hear you liked the muffins, Ariffa 🙂 I brought some along with me on my trip and polished the last one off this morning. mmm! I’m with you on working out in the morning. It’s good to just get it out of the way. Then you have the rest of the day to feel good about it!

Leave a Reply

