The best kind of Saturday

I don’t think I’ve experienced ONE negative thought this whole day. I slept until 8:00 and woke up to make a breakfast worthy of the weekend.

Peanut Flour Pancakes. I know I’m a bit behind on the peanut flour trend but I’m glad I finally jumped on the bandwagon. Gluten-free, 16 grams of protein per serving and delicious. It’s not available in any Calgary stores (that I’m aware of) but I ordered it from here and it was on my door step in two days!

I’m excited about this stuff because I have yet to find a protein powder that I like, but this could serve as a good supplement in smoothies or to make bars with. My protein needs aren’t terribly high, but while carbohydrates fill me up at the meal, protein is what keeps me full, and who likes to be hungry? Not to mention, I become terribly unpleasant the moment my blood sugar dips.

Anywho, mix:

  • 1/3 c. peanut flour
  • 1/2 tbsp. ground flax
  • 1 tbsp oat bran
  • 1/4 c. almond milk
  • 2 tbsp egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • pinch of salt

then cook in a lightly greased pan, shower with toppings and enjoy!

Next time, I will add cinnamon and vanilla extract, I don’t know why I skipped those today.

I decided I wanted a tall stack of mini cakes rather than one or two big ones, which is what I usually do.

Topped with seared banana (just half a banana sliced through the middle and fried alongside the cakes!) greek yogurt, maple syrup and extra peanut butter. The peanut flour is de-fatted and fat is what ensures maximum rib-stickage for me!

Good breakfast.

After I cleaned up from breakfast I headed to The Yoga Passage for 11:30 Ashtanga 2 followed by 1:15 Restorative. I can’t even express how happy I am to have this place be a part of my life. I want to do this every day for the rest of my life (and my next life) I found that this past week I was a little bit hard on myself and overly analytical and lo and behold all of those thoughts and feelings magically dissolved after my practise thanks to my teachers’ always powerful words.

almost went right home after yoga, but hanging out at Starbucks for a couple of hours with the book I’m reading for my English class sounded much more inviting. What is it about coffee shops that makes a person infinitely more productive?

Dinner was roasted Cornish game hen with roasted veggies and baguette

I found WINE

Hope you all have had an equally fantastic Saturday. Seeya tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “The best kind of Saturday

Leave a Reply

