Breakfasts, Lately

Happy Monday!

My morning started out well enough. I was up at the butt-crack of dawn and had a really good lower body work out. Unfortunately, I was feeling a bit off near the end of my workout and spent all class with really strong pains in my stomach. I felt like I ate an avocado !?! Thankfully, I was able to not go into work today and came home to curl into a ball with tea and textbooks for the rest of the day.

Backing up to the weekend. On Friday night, my friends swooped me away from work and we went out for dinner and a little bit too much wine. I think I’m done with alcohol for the time being. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t drink a ridiculous amount of alcohol, I just have an embarrassingly low tolerance for the juice.

The next morning, I hung out at Good Earth Cafe to study for a bit before heading to the Yoga Passage. I get a Good Earth coffee between classes most days of the week and I’ve been waiting for the ‘right time’ to have one of their cinnamon rolls. What better time than a lazy Saturday morning while nursing a mild hangover? I took a peek at the nutritional info and was pleasantly surprised that they are whole-wheat, and <10 g of sugar!

After I felt content with my studying, I opted for a stroll around downtown in favour of the rigorous Ashtanga 2 class that I usually take on Saturdays. Something about inversions and back bends and binding sounded less than appealing given the state that I was in.

I did, however, make it back to the Yoga Passage for the afternoon hot restorative class which felt like a reset button on my entire body. I came out a new woman! In desperate need of a shower.

Smoothie Sunday

This was 1 frozen banana, 1 clementine, 1 tbsp. chia seeds, 1.5 tbsp. coconut flour, 1 c. almond milk, 1 tsp. vanilla extract topped with toasted coconut it was DE-licious and excellent fuel for Body Combat

Before my workout this morning, I had an oatmeal pancake (this recipe) with a laughing cow wedge, peanut butter and strawberry preserves on top.

I made a batch of 6 of these pancakes last night for easy first breakfasts (I usually have 2 smaller breakfasts because I can’t work out on a full stomach, and I know the importance of fueling my big scary muscles post-workout)

One more fun thing. I’m going to Hawaii with my family in exactly one month! Initially, I thought I would be left behind because of my exam schedule, but it turns out that there is a week between my last class and my first exam where I can join my brother and parents who get TWO weeks in Maui. I expect to have flash cards in my carry on bag.

Leave a Reply

