Easter Weekend

Hello! Long weekends are so pleasant, especially when there isn’t much to do in terms of school work. I have a 500 word paper and one last exam before I leave for Hawaii on Thursday, but nothing that I’m stressing over.

Food things:

Sprouted wheat toast with tahini, dates and honey before Ashtanga on Friday

Spolumbos chicken sausage + leaves — made delicious with this dressing.

Saturday began with overnight oats with chia seeds, vanilla, raspberries, banana, peanut butter and granola. After breakfast I went to my first spin class in months and my butt is killing me. Thought you should know.

The rest of my Saturday was spent doing some last-minute shopping for Hawaii, a little bit of school work and this:

Spur of the moment decision to lose six inches! So much for my fixes for post-gym greasy hair.

I’m trying to clean out my fridge before leaving for Hawaii. It is packed with vegetables, I have a plethora of fruit and some dairy products that need using up.

Saturday Dinner

*please note that these measurements are approximations because I don’t normally measure when I am cooking.

  • 1 c. brussels sprouts
  • 1/3 c. vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp butter (coconut oil/ olive oil would work too)
  • 2 tbsp. dried cranberries
  • 1/4 c. salted pistachios
  • pinch of dried thyme
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp honey

Add brussels sprouts and vegetable broth into a small sauce pan. Cover with a lid and simmer on medium heat until sprouts are tender and liquid has evaporated. Add butter, honey, garlic and herbs. Toss and allow sprouts to brown slightly. Mix in dried cranberries and pistachios. Serve and devour!

Breakfast this morning was Crepes (this recipe, subbing spelt flour for all-purpose) with home-made lemon curd, almond slivers and raspberries.

Back to the grind tomorrow. Only four more days!!!!

One thought on “Easter Weekend

Leave a Reply

