Alone no more

Now that my family has finally joined me back in Calgary, I am free to post on the internet that I no longer have my entire house to myself. Criminal Minds has scarred me, I take my personal safety against psychopaths and serial killers seriously.

Coming home to a dark and empty house after a week away, I imagine myself in a poorly cast horror film, reluctant to look at my reflection in the window, just anticipating that there is a masked murderer lurking over my shoulder.

Aside from the fact that I find it necessary to sleep with a pair of poultry shears underneath my pillow when home alone, I really do enjoy the solitude in the early morning and in the day light. I am free to belt out David Gray to my heart’s content, drink tea on the nice couches, and narrate myself aloud in a British accent when cooking myself a meal.

Though one further setback of coming home solo after a week on Vacation is a barren fridge. (not including the broccoli that liquified over the past seven days). Tumble weed, y’all.

I managed to scrape together a few reasonably satisfying meals from the contents of my pantry and freezer. But now that my mother and her credit card are back in town, I do declare a shopping trip is in order.

Dough-boy smoothie

rolled oats, frozen banana, chia seeds, almond milk, cocoa powder, peanut flour topped with cocoa bliss and granola

Egg-wich

fried egg, raspberry jam, delectably sharp cheddar with a side of peas and frozen grapes (read: the only green things in my house right now — aside from a moldy lemon that I simply refuse to touch)

In other news, I have conquered my post-vacation exams. They both went extremely well as far as I’m concerned, aside from my sleeping in this morning (JET LAG !!!) and waking up a mere hour before my English exam. These things happen in real life!? Coupled with the fact that it is a Saturday and busses run much less frequently on the weekends, I was out the door within 5 minutes of waking, making it to my exam right on time.

Over worked, unfed and caffeine deprived, I treated myself to a well-deserved late breakfast of steel-cut oats with coconut, craisins, dark chocolate chips, peanut butter and banana slices followed by a Yoga marathon at The Passage. It’s good to be home.

Leave a Reply

