Thunder and Showers

I was rudely awaken just before 7 this morning by a grumble-grumble-POW. That’s my interpretation of the loudest clap of thunder that got me out of bed when my alarm clock failed.

I had an interview at 10, so I was able to ease into the busy day with hot shower, and episode of Mad Men, and a huge pancake

Kodiak mix with cinnamon, blueberries, banana, greek yogurt and peanut butter

My interview was for a volunteer photographer position at the AIDS Calgary Awareness Association. It went really well and I’m happy to get involved in such an important cause.

After quickly looking at the address last night, I determined that the interview wasn’t too far from the area where I work, so I figured I could walk. FALSE. It took me about 45 minutes to figure out where I was going (the opposite direction than what I had initially thought, go figure) but luckily I made it on time. I just wish I didn’t wear heels today

After my interview I headed to class, where I was informed that my research paper is due next Thursday. Nothing to do but cry laugh and write. I refuse to pull and all nighter for this one.

Class ended early so I rushed home for a shower and a snack and was right out the door again for yoga

It was the sweatiest beast of a class, thanks to the humidity from outside and I immediately poured myself a cocktail once I got home

Watered down pomegranate juice, coconut water and lime

Showered –is anyone keeping a tally of how many showers I took today?– and dined

Sweet Potato – Chickpea Stew

Serves 3-4

  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 large sweet potato, diced
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1 can chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 inch of ginger,grated
  • handful of cilantro
  • Squeeze of lime
  • salt and pepper

I was rushing to yoga so I threw everything into a pot, brought it to a boil, and then transfered it into my slow cooker on low for the 3.5 hours I was away. It turned out perfectly! Salad of spinach, hearts of palm, walnuts and chopped dates dressed with lime juice and truffle oil on the side

2 thoughts on “Thunder and Showers

Leave a Reply

