Dehydration Nation

The weather in Calgary is getting hotter by the minute. I love the heat but unfortunately the combination of my cutting back on caffeine (in preparation for the Crazy Sexy Diet I’ll be starting on Saturday) and it being seemingly impossible to drink enough water has left me with a lingering headache that just won’t quit.

This morning I took an extra hour of sleep and made a simple bowl of cereal with berries, banana, flax, peanut butter and soymilk. Cereal never keeps me full unless I bulk it up with all the fixin’s

Today was one of the three days this month that I didn’t have to go in to work so I spent the morning cleaning up the mess that has accumulated in my room.

Lunch was roasted butternut squash, chickpeas, goats cheese and trail mix with a hummus dressing that is simply carmelized onion hummus mixed with Dijon mustard and thinned out with vegetable broth.

After lunch I was off for a hair cut and then yoga. It has been a while since I indulged in a long yoga binge so I stuck around for the Ishta class and then the hot. My yoga practise has felt a little bit forced and I have had more ‘bad’ classes than good ones but today I felt like I could go on forever. It’s so important not to take the bad classes so seriously because they really do make you appreciate the good ones that much more.

On my way home I guzzled this coconut water in 30 seconds flat.

I do find that having some coconut water does help with the headaches and dehydration. If only it wasn’t so pricey!

I had planned on making a big, cold smoothie for dinner but my mom made turkey lasagna and I didn’t take any convincing for me to change my dinner plans.  Especially as I’ll be drinking smoothies like it’s my job starting next week.

Served with garlic bread and romaine dressed simply with lemon juice, honey and salt.

Off to drink a million cups of water. I’ll be up all night emptying my bladder. Just so you know.

Leave a Reply

