Crazy Sexy Adventure Day One: So many green things.

Today kicked off my first day of the crazy sexy adventure cleanse. It wasn’t all rainbows and butterflies, but I see some serious potential and lessons to be learned in the near future.

I woke up and had a glass of hot lemon water with a pinch of cayenne. I’ve been doing this for a while actually and it makes a world of difference for my digestion (gross)

Breakfast, about an hour later, was a smoothie with cucumber, romaine, one banana, three strawberries, 2 tbsp. chia seeds and half a cup each of coconut water and almond milk.

I won’t lie. This tasted like death and sadness. I was in a hurry to get to work and drank it anyways but I think I’ll stick to my regular recipes for vegan smoothies: Banana based with kale or spinach with almond milk and nut butter. I’d rather munch on extra cucumber and romaine at lunch time than choke it down in a smoothie. Live and learn, I suppose.

Lunch was a giant massaged kale salad. I don’t know if I’m massaging my kale properly. I gave about two cups of torn up kale a good rub down with lemon tahini dressing and let it sit over night to break down even further. I added red peppers, cucumber, snap peas, chickpeas, walnuts and green olives this morning.

Great tasting but the texture was kind of off. Maybe I just prefer my kale in chip form or lightly steamed.

After work I took a hot restorative class. I fell asleep through every single hold.

The amount of food I ate today was fine with the lack of activity in my day but on days that I exercise I will be eating much more food. What I find interesting about eating vegan (I did a 7 day vegan challenge a while back) is that I am so focused on getting enough nutrition that I barely consider calories or sugar or grams of this and that. I’m much more in tune with my body and hunger cues.

Throughout the day I snacked on an apple, jicama with lemon juice and cayenne and mary’s crackers with hummus and finally, dinner was zucchini noodles with broccoli, peppers, snap peas and carrots in a spicy almond butter sauce

Over all, my stomach feels better than usual. I was definitely a little tired today. A little hungry at times and I probably could have used more water, especially because of the restorative class that I took. So far so good I’m looking forward to the next twenty days!

2 thoughts on “Crazy Sexy Adventure Day One: So many green things.

Leave a Reply

