Crazy Sexy Adventure Day 3: Rocketfuel

I expected today to be a steep learning curve pairing the cleanse with intense exercise. This morning my alarm went off at 5:29 a.m. and I bounded right out of bed. I sipped on my lemon/ cayenne cocktail and a swig of green juice and was off to RPM.

I usually refer to RPM as “spin” but it’s really a step up from your average cycling class. It’s a 50 minute class combining speed, endurance, intervals and intense climbs with exhilarating music and challenging resistance. I have no shame in this class. I grunt, scream, groan and eventually just close my eyes and let it burn. The teacher is always energetic and a class setting is great motivation.

After RPM, my gym offers a 30 minute class that focuses on the core, many of the 6 am RPM-ers hobble from the cycling room to the fitness studio to finish off their workout with 30 minutes of various planks, twists and crunches. The instructor has thrown in a 100 push up challenge after her classes. It’s optional, but not really.

Strangely, I have the best workouts in the wee hours of the morning with minimal food in my stomach, and this morning was no different. I do, however, attribute those couple of sips of green juice to my speedy legs this morning.

Before jumping into the shower, I combined 2 tbsp. chia seeds, 1 tbsp. coconut flour, 1 tbsp. cocoa powder, 1 tbsp. shredded coconut, and half a cup of almond milk and popped it into the fridge. After thirty minutes of soaking I topped it with banana slices and raspberries.

I was catering a lunch meeting for a friend so the remainder of my morning was spent putting together quinoa-lentil salad, roasted vegetable salad with feta, tandoori chicken pizzas on naan crust, chocolate covered strawberries, and blueberry basil smoothies.

I had a taste of the smoothie and it was divine. I’m making a greener, more substantial version of this for breakfast tomorrow.

After dropping off the food I quickly had my own lunch –

Leftovers are such a blessing. Salad with quinoa and lentil curry. I have tomorrow completely off and plan to spend the day doing lots of food prep so I don’t get caught with my vegan pants down. Fail to plan = Plan to fail!

At work I ate a Larabar and drank more rocket fuel green juice

Once I got home I put together dinner – vegan caprese salad – served with an unpictured warm kale salad that I’ll be sure to show you next time I make it, it was delicious and had wilted kale, green olives, truffle oil, agave, and crushed Mary’s Crackers.

I feel awesome. Calm, energetic, radiant. Let’s do this forever.

2 thoughts on “Crazy Sexy Adventure Day 3: Rocketfuel

Leave a Reply

