Crazy Sexy Adventure Days 14, 15, 16: Weekend Warrior

Hello! I decided to take the weekend to just relax and recoup. I cannot believe that there are four days left of my adventure cleanse where did the time go?!

On Friday I took advantage of my morning off and went to work for a Chiropractic treatment (my first ever!) followed by a Naturopathic appointment. I am so, so lucky to work where I do. Continuing on with my healthy momentum, I took a lunch hour class at Yoga Passage and then settled into work for the afternoon. Once I arrived home, I declared a night off of greens in favour of something a little different

Sweet Potato Blackbean Quesadilla

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1 tortilla (I used Food for Life brown rice but sprouted wheat would be great too)
  • 1/4 c. grated sweet potato
  • 1/8 c. fresh corn
  • 1/8 c. blackbeans
  • 2 tbsp. chopped cilantro
  • 1 small clove of garlic
  • sliced white onion
  • 1/2 tsp. coconut oil

Directions:

In a small pan, quickly sautee the sweet potato in the coconut oil until brown. Add in the rest of the ingredients and cook together until the corn is slightly softened and the sweet potato is cooked through. Spread hummus onto the surface of your tortilla and sprinkle with nutritional yeast. Place your sweet potato mixture onto one half of the tortilla, fold over and bake at 350 for 5-10 minutes until browned and bubbly.

Saturday was a long day at work as well as juice fast day.

I drank green juice until I got home at 5:00  and then made a big chocolate cherry green smoothie with almond butter and a sprinkle of granola.

Sunday was all over the place. Before going to bed the night before, I poured some almond milk over some of my quinoa granola and left it to soak overnight. In the morning I added berries and dug in. I think this is what people call muesli. Thoughts?

Of course, Sunday morning means Body Combat. After class, a quick shower and a smoothie, my mom and I went to wander about the mall for a few hours and then I was off for the best night I’ve had in a while! Before I get to that, let me show you dinner

My favourite summer salad is spinach, quinoa, strawberries, walnuts and feta with a balsamic dressing. The flavour combination is perfection, but, of course, feta is not Crazy Sexy approved. When the craving struck I made a quick batch of tofu ricotta and it was so, so delicious, I had several spoonfuls before even putting it ontop of my salad. It offers the salty, sourness that I love so much about feta cheese in this salad.

This past weekend was the Calgary Folk Music Festival. I have known about it for months but, being me, I put off buying tickets until it was too late and they were sold out. Basically crushed, as Iron and Wine, one of my favorite groups, was going to be the closing act of the festival. While lying in bed on Saturday night, I was having nagging thoughts to track a ticket down. After a quick scan on kijiji I was so lucky to find one for the regular price! Even better, the girl selling the ticket goes to Yoga Passage so exchange was simple enough. Sometimes things are just meant to be.

Like finding the perfect spot for Sam Beam to serenade you. I got home late and went to sleep late and missed spin+core this morning but who. cares. This was epic.

Leave a Reply

