End of Summer lull; Return of a breakfast favorite, and care free treats

I desperately need for school to begin. I am bored to tears. Un-motivated. Going through the motions. The more time I have to do things, the less I do. I thrive off of schedules and deadlines. Though I know that this is just an excuse I like to use for the fact that I’m being very unproductive and lazy these days. Just ignore me while I vent.

This morning, I set my alarm so as to pretend I had some form of structure in my life and ate a Breakfast cookie, the first after a long time!

1/2 a banana, 1/3 c. rolled oats, 1 tbsp. Sunwarrior protein powder, 1 tbsp. cocoa powder, 1 tbsp. shredded coconut, 1 tbsp. peanut butter, splash of almond milk. Mash, spread onto a plate, leave in the fridge overnight. This morning I topped it with a little smear of cocoa bliss (chocolate-coconut butter) and some home-made raspberry chia seed jam. Side of fruit and tea.

After my extremely productive and social morning –sarcasm. I sat in my basement and watched several episodes of Modern Family, folded a basket of laundry, danced around to the 60’s French pop station on Songza and gave myself an at-home coconut oil hair treatment. Real life.

LUNCH

sautéed kale and crimini mushrooms, roasted sweet potato and a fried egg. I almost added feta, but I had big, dairy plans for later in the day.

Finally I washed the half cup of coconut oil out of my hair, pulled on some people clothes and was off to meet another human in the form of my best friend Ashley. We walked and talked and tried on stupid hats. The youzghe <shortened version of ‘usual’

We went our separate ways and I found my self in a sweaty heap on my yoga mat. 75 minutes at Yoga Passage left me a happy, noodly, HUNGRY girl. My friend Nat and I had dinner at Boxwood Cafe. It has been on my “To Eat” list for the longest time but today offered the perfect recipe of hunger, special occasion, and utter disregard for financial status.

Nat’s heading back to Vancouver for school on Thursday, I’ll miss her LOTS but I’m planning on showing up on her door step in BC later this year…

I had the amazing quinoa stuffed eggplant with roasted tomatoes and miso for dinner.

Plus a glass of rosé.

Afterwards we meandered down to Village Ice cream ,where I got bourbon butter pecan and salted caramel. Half scoop of each = 1 scoop in a still warm waffle cone.

So. much. yes. Also, get this: Food when enjoyed thoroughly and without agonizing over as to whether it will give you a stomach ache… does not give you a stomach ache! Noted.

One thought on “End of Summer lull; Return of a breakfast favorite, and care free treats

Leave a Reply

